on privilege

Last night after a senior vocal recital, after chatting for awhile with some colleagues I walked to the front of the auditorium to greet the student and wish her well, which she gratefully received. As I turned to go it occurred to me that the group of people standing in the aisle were not in fact simply gathered there chatting with one another, they were in a line waiting to congratulate her.

I honestly had not recognized their formation as I strolled past, and as I returned no one seemed particularly frustrated that I had violated the order of things. Though I initially wondered if that was a function of my position as a faculty member, this morning it seems equally possible it was a function of patient indulgence of the elderly.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

