on Facebook and newness

I’ve been reviewing my Facebook time-line as an exercise in self-reflection, looking back on things I’ve found interesting or important or entertaining enough to post over the years. I’m feeling very ambivalent about Facebook these days; I think my departure from the service is imminent.

It’s somewhat ironic, then, that it’s a result of my Facebook timeline that I’m again aware of this reflection on Facebook and its ethos from a few years ago. The focus on what’s new, and on immediate reactions, is very real. It creates problems, too; there have been a lot of intemperate posts after recent news items that are both uninformed and inappropriate, leading to a lot of unnecessary hurt. It’s among the many reasons I’m pretty sure I won’t be a part of it much longer.

This entry was posted in Culture, Media, Rhetoric and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

