on intellectual approaches

I went to see “God’s Not Dead” this week with some guys from church. To be honest, you couldn’t have crawled under my expectations for it. So it exceeded my expectations, which is always nice, but the bar was low. There has been a lot of commentary about it, and I don’t think I could add anything useful.

It did remind me, though, of an essay I read earlier this year about science and philosophy and pretensions about knowledge. Nagel’s book is on my list to read this Spring.

And I think if nothing else that would have to be the effort of the movie, to encourage believers that their faith and their reason are not at odds. That’s a good message, and a true one, though not delivered with the strength and clarity possible at the movies. One hopes that might change in the future.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

