on new directions

I’ve seen some suggestions that 13 weeks is a good time period for working on new personal projects. Roughly three months, 25% of a year. Makes sense. Work on something for 13 weeks, see how it goes, start another, adjust, continue, whatever seems likely to lead forward.

I’ve also been thinking about the difference between exercising and training, the former being the activity, the latter the activity planned and designed for a particular purpose. Playing pitch and catch is exercise for me, but it’s training for the guys on the baseball team.

So for the next 13 weeks I’m going to be working on a plan a colleague pointed me to for some basic fitness, doing push up, sit ups, and squats. By the end the plan is to be able to do 100 push ups, 200 sit ups, and 200 squats in a single session.

The sit ups will be the issue. It will be nice to be able to do 100 push ups. I ride enough that my legs are still in decent shape. But my abdomen is mush. If I can do 200 sit ups at one time in July, that will be a big change.

I started today. 12 push ups, 24 squats, and 24 sit ups. Not a lot. The first two were easy. The sit ups were not. The plan breaks them up into five sets, so 4, 6, 4, 4, and 6. I felt it the last set of six.

The modern convention is before and after pictures, I suppose. We’ll see about that.

This entry was posted in Fitness, General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

