Somedays it’s just not your day

We’ve really enjoyed the return of normal temperatures here. The last few days have been in the upper 80’s instead of the low 100’s. The windows are open, it’s nice to sit on the deck with coffee in the morning, the plants are showing some life again.

One of the best things about it is how much more time is available for a good bike ride. For most of June and July the only way Michelle and I could ride for more than a couple of hours was to leave the house by 6:30 or so, just to make sure we got home before the worst of the afternoon heat. Forget about riding in the evening, since it didn’t really cool off at all until 9:00 or so.

We’ve been learning good routes for when we want to ride for a few hours, anywhere from 30-60 miles or so. Michelle is up to 75 on her longest ride yesterday, and she’s going another 30 or so today. She’ll be ready for the Gran Fondo in September.

I was out on a planned 30 mile ride earlier. It was a bit of a risk, because I lost my CO pump on a ride Thursday, so if I got a flat I wouldn’t be able to repair it. The bike shop on the way home from church doesn’t open until noon on Sundays, and I decided not to wait. Michelle was home in case I needed help.

It was one of those days when mentally and/or physically I didn’t seem to be into the ride. The fact that I was riding west into a headwind probably didn’t help. But I eventually made it to Yutan, and decide to ride just a half mile farther up a hill on Highway 92, into the wind, just so I could come back down it.

And it was worth it. Riding with the wind from behind makes a difference, even downhill. The problem, though, was how much harder pavement cracks hit a tire at 32 compared to 25. I blew out my front tire, with no way to replace it on the road. All the headwind riding, none of the tailwind. That hurts. It just wasn’t my day.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

