Spring Break

This is the week of Spring Break for the school where I teach. Ironically, where my wife teaches, Spring Break is next week. Our kids are in another district; their Spring Break is the first week of April. We don’t make big family plans for “spring break.”

I’m realizing I need to take a break during this break. I’ve finished a lot of grading this week, which has been good and necessary. There’s more to do, and not just more grading. There is material to prepare for when classes resume on Monday. There’s a project the following weekend to prepare for, and that means I’ll need to be prepared ahead of time for classes the following week, since there won’t be time to prepare over that weekend. And on it goes. I haven’t even gotten to the list of things to do around the house this Spring.

It feels very daunting, and it seems foolish not to use this large block of discretionary time to get on top of it all. But I never do, and I doubt I ever will. “Getting on top of it all” I suspect is a faulty goal, a distraction that keeps me from something I need.

“The Sabbath was made for humanity.” In our care to avoid legalism about work on the Sabbath, it seems we’ve neglected to pay attention to the significance of what Jesus implies about that day, that it was made for us. We need it. I need it. A day during which I don’t work. There have been times when for whatever reason I’ve spent a day completely oblivious to work responsibilities. Those times have been very good for my soul, even when I wasn’t intentional about making it a day of rest. I wonder what might happen if I were intentional about it.

I’m going to be intentional about it today. My wife is teaching, my kids are at school, I’ve got the house to myself (except for the dog; she’ll nap quietly, eventually). I’m going to aim for some extended silence, in fact. The occasional turning of a page or sound of a mug hitting a coaster – that’s it for awhile.

I need the rest.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Break

  1. Karl says:

    The challenge, of course, is to figure out what I am supposed to do with the guilt of not getting to complete the list of things I *should* be doing. and so one pushes on … and becomes even more inefficient as one gets tired. Colleague suggested I would die with things on my “to do” list. It would seem that for so many, burn out is much closer than we suspect … or at least much more possible than we think. Wonder if wisdom really *does* come with age. I got plenty of gray hair to prove I *should* be wiser … or at least older.

Leave a Reply

